We are pleased to announce the 3 winners of this year’s Philip Bates Prize for Composers and Songwriters.
From left to right they are: Georgia Denham, Rob Laidlow and Kai Moohan-Shotan

The adjudication was as follows:The prize money of £1,000 was donated by Philip Bates Trust. Two equal prizes of £400 each were awarded, one adjudicated by the Philip Bates Trust (A) and one by Royal Birmingham Conservatoire (B), plus an audience prize of £200. The results were:-

Prize A split              Rob Laidlow                          ‘Aroha’

   Kai Moohan-Shotan              ‘Pulse’

Prize B                     Georgia Denham                   ‘//for Paul’

Audience Prize        Kai Moohan-Shotan               ‘Pulse’


We’re hoping that Kai Moohan-Shotan will come with his musicians to perform his jazz piece ‘Pulse’ at the next Touch of Basil